Fire and rescue members honored

The Rappahannock County Volunteer Fire & Rescue Association’s annual awards banquet, postponed from February due to the severe snowstorms, was held on April 10 at the social hall of the Chester Gap Volunteer Fire & Rescue Company.

Some 90 members of the county’s fire and rescue companies and their guests, family members and friends gathered to enjoy a meal catered by Sheaffer’s of Woodstock. Following the dinner, several awards were presented by Association President Clinton Wines, chief of the Chester Gap company, and Arthur Candenquist, secretary of the association and a member of Amissville Volunteer Fire & Rescue.

The awards presented were chosen by the association’s executive committee based on recommendations from the seven fire and rescue companies in Rappahannock County.

Firefighter of the Year: Manny Garcia, Sperryville Volunteer Fire Department;

EMS Provider of the Year: Marc Deal, Washington Volunteer Fire & Rescue;

Junior Firefighter of the Year: Chris Garcia, Sperryville Vol. Fire Dept.;

Junior EMS Provider of the Year: Triston Blosser, Flint Hill Volunteer Fire & Rescue;

Supporting Member of the Year: Maybelle Gilkey, Chester Gap Volunteer Fire & Rescue;

Community Support: Rev. Jon Heddleston, Reynolds Memorial Baptist Church, Sperryville;

Outstanding Contributor to the Association: immediate past association president Donald Gore, Sperryville Volunteer Rescue Squad.

Recognized with a Special Award for Sustained Service was Paul Poling, of Amissville Fire & Rescue, a firefighter for more than 60 years who has served as president of the association and in leadership positions with the Amissville company.

About Staff/Contributed 5431 Articles
The Rappahannock News welcomes contributions from any and all members of the community. Email news and photos to or call us at 540-675-3338.