Rapp students win $60K in scholarships

Janet Jenkins is awarded the Rappahannock County Retired Teachers Association Scholarship by retired teacher Freida Herman.

By Toni Egger
When Janet Jenkins stepped up to receive her Rappahannock County Retired Teachers’ Association Scholarship on May 13, loud applause in the Rappahannock High School auditorium greeted her accomplishment.

She plans to pursue a career in teaching at Lord Fairfax Community College where she will join students less than half her age.

Jenkins’ education was interrupted by a few decades. She’s held many jobs at both the county elementary and high schools while raising two children who are currently enrolled in the schools. Her dream of going to college is one of many made possible by the generosity of Rappahannock County citizens. This year, local donors awarded more than $60,0000 to 23 graduating seniors and to Jenkins.

Several students received multiple scholarships. Brittany Clatterbuck, Carly Day, Robert Dornbusch, Taylor Light, Heidi Rechin, and Ashley Riggleson each received three or more scholarships to help fund their post-secondary educations.

Two students won four-year scholarships. Cory Garnett won the Horning Scholarship, generously donated by Joe and Lynne Horning, which will give him $2,000 a year at Virginia Commonwealth University, and Taylor Light won the Rappahannock County Math, Science and Engineering scholarship donated by the Darby family, giving her $1,500 a year for schooling at Virginia Tech. Both students will have to maintain a high grade-point average to keep their scholarships.

Mindy Ramey, right, receives the Emily Jane Hilscher Passion Award from Beth and Eric Hilscher.

One scholarship comes as a surprise to the recipients each year, it being one of the few that students cannot apply for directly. The Emily Jane Hilscher Passion Award donated by the Hilscher family in honor of their daughter Emily, who was slain in the Virginia Tech massacre, is given in recognition of a “special spark” and helps recipients pursue a particular passion. This year’s winner, Mindy Ramey, will attend a veterinary technician class at Lord Fairfax this summer.

The well-attended ceremony brings out tears of remembrance, honoring those for whom scholarships are named, shouts of joy for the budding scholars, and a wonderful sense of community as a small group of donors helps make big plans happen for graduates. This is Rappahannock County at its best. Congratulations to all!

2010 scholarships

LFCC Principal Scholarship: Brittany Clatterbuck

LFCC College Board: Madison Herbert

LFCC Tech Prep: Brooke Thorpe

LFCC Commonwealth Legacy: Brittany Clatterbuck and Madison Herbert

LFCC Kummuli Family, Cody Ramey

Johnny Jenkins Jr. Memorial Scholarship: Brooke Thorpe, Heidi Rechin, Ashley Riggleson and Krista Riggleson
Rappahannock Retired Teacher Scholarship: Janet Jenkins

Hackley Family Scholarship: Heidi Rechin, Ashely Riggleson, Taylor Light

Greater Piedment Association of Realtors Scholarship: Ashley Riggleson

E. Franklin Warner Scholarship: Daniel Clement

Julia Boddie Educational Scholarship: Carly Day and Cory Garnett

Lois Snead Arts and Crafts Scholarship: Heidi Rechin

Next Step Dream Award: Austin Burnett, Jacob Williams, Matthew Cody Dodson and Sarah Garrison

Paul Andrew Nichols, Sr. and HB Winfrey Scholarship: Robert Dornbusch and Tyler Burdick (home schooled)

Rappahannock County Lions Club: Matthew Cody Dodson and Taylor Light

Rappahannock County Math, Science and Engineering Scholarship: Taylor Light

Elizabeth Biggs Memorial Scholarship: Ashley and Krista Riggleson

Uncle Kelly’s Clean Slate Scholarship: Cody Ramey

Emily Jane Hilscher Passion Award: Mindy Ramey

James J. Kilkpatrick Writing Award: Ashley Riggleson

Rappahannock County Education Association Scholarship: Brittany Clatterbuck

Rappahannock County Garden Club Francis J. Leonard Scholarship: Robert Dornbusch, Taylor Light

Alpha Delta Kappa Teaching Scholarship: Brittany Clatterbuck

Salem Ruritan Scholarships: Robert Dornbusch and Carly Day

Elizabeth Grigsby Memorial Scholarship: Taylor Light

Mary Beth Williams Memorial Scholarship: Natalie Tupper and Carly Day

Lykes Darden Scholarship: Heidi Rechin

Horning Scholarship: Cory Garnett

RPM Fund Scholarship: Wayne Bird, Brittany Clatterbuck, Carly Day, Monica Figueroa-Roman, Madison Herbert, Christopher Jenkins, Taylor Light, Jacob Racer and Taylor Yowell

About Staff/Contributed 5503 Articles
The Rappahannock News welcomes contributions from any and all members of the community. Email news and photos to editor@rappnews.com or call us at 540-675-3338.