RCHS athletes take home awards

Carly Day displays her Female Athlete of the Year trophy with those who've had a huge impact on her success: (left to right) Wrestling coach Jamie Harris, assistant track coach James Sharpe, Carly Day, assistant track coach Heather Scavetti, track coach Scott Stephens. Photo by Hazel Zinn-Day.

Rappahannock County High School athletes were treated to a star-studded annual spring athletic awards ceremony on Monday, June 7. The Panther players received honors, applause and accolades from their coaches and leaders.

Top honors went to the Outstanding Male Athlete, Bennett Eastham; Outstanding Female Athlete, Carly Day; Uli Meyer Award, Greg Czekaj; and The Neil Burke Memorial Award, Huck Pace.

Winners in other categories were: Softball JP – Outstanding Offensive Player Shelby Thornhill. Outstanding Defensive Player Maddie Kopjanski, Most Improved Player Savannah Jones; Softball Varsity – Most Dedicated Brittani Dodson, Panther Pride Utility Lauren Settle, Most Improved Allie Dore; Boys Soccer JV – Outstanding Offensive Player Tanyon Lee, Outstanding Defensive Player Matt Lombardi, Team Spirit Steven Hensley; Boys Soccer Varsity – Outstanding Offensive Player Bennett Eastham, Outstanding Defensive Player Austin Burnett, Most Improved Player Jon Letsen: Baseball JP – Outstanding Offensive Player Dylan Midkiff, Outstanding Defensive Player Bradlee Frye, Most Improved Player Gary Jenkins; Baseball Varsity – Most Improved Brandon Walker Golden Glove Award John Mills, Panther Award Taylor Yowell; track boys – Most Dedicated Britt Hipple, Rising Star Rita Cliffton; Girls Soccer JP – Most Valuable Defender Jane Purnell, Most Valuable Midfielder Josie Kritter, Most Valuable “Wingman” Emily Massie; Girls Soccer Varsity – Outstanding Offensive Player Bryn Sonnett, Outstanding Defensive Player Tiffany Wayland, Most Improved Eleasha Clement.

The following are Panther Scholar athletes who earned at least a 3.5 grade point average: Katie Hale, Haley Hogan, Lauren Light, Bryn Sonnett, Brittany Stephens, Allison Stuart, Tiffany Wayland, Sarah Wheatley, Danika Kritter, Sarah Garrison, Lily Nealon, Cody Casey, Austin Burnett, Greg Czekaj, Bennett Eastham, Case Kramer, Matt Lombardi, Gary White, James White, Brittani Dodson, Megan Early, Caitlin Miller, Skyler Owens, Lyndie Paul, Natalie Tupper, Zack Armor, Reed Dove and Britt Hipple.