A twofer, and other RCHS successes

Valedictorian Ashley Reta (left) and her twin sister Krista Marie in the celebratory graduating crowd at Rappahannock County High School.

Special to Rappahannock News
Double your education, double your fun! Those old ads for Doublemint gum come to mind when reporting on Rappahannock’s Riggleson sisters, Krista Marie and Ashley Reta.

Ashley Reta was the valedictorian in this year’s graduating class from Rappahannock County High School (RCHS). That honor goes to the student with the highest grade point average.

Not far behind in class academic rankings was Krista Marie, who had the special honor of introducing the valedictorian – her twin sister! – at the graduation and awards ceremony on Saturday, June 12.

The twins have never been separated, according to their father, Rappahanock mason Artie Riggleson, so they are going to the same university this fall – Mary Washington in Fredericksburg. Ashley had the opportunity to attend the University of Virginia, but decided she would rather be with her sister at Mary Washington, said their father.

Brooke Whitcomb Hatcher was the class salutatorian, traditionally the graduating senior with the second highest academic ranking in the class. She was introduced by fellow classmate Natalie Ryan Tupper.

Among the awards and scholarships presented at the ceremony were five from Lord Farirfax Community College, going to: Brittany Clatterbuck, Brooke Thorpe, Madison Herbert and Cody Ramey.

The Elizabeth Biggs Memorial Scholarship went to Ashley Riggleson and Krista Riggleson.

Taylor Light is the recipient of the Francis J. Leonard Scholarship.

The Rappahannock County Garden Club Scholarship went to Robert Dornbusch.

The Hackley Family Memorial Scholarships went to Taylor Light, Heidi Rechin and Ashley Riggleson.

The James J. Kilpatrick Writing Award went to Ashley Riggleson.

The Greater Piedmont Association of Realtors Scholarship was awarded to Ashley Riggleson.

The Johnny Jenkins Jr. Scholarship was awarded to Heidi Rechin, Brooke Thorpe, Ashley Riggleson and Krista Riggleson.

Carly Day and Cory Garnett received Julia E. Boddie Scholarships.

Heidi Rechin won a Lois Snead Art Scholarship and a Lykes Darden Scholarship.

The Rappahannock County Education Association Scholarship went to Brittany Clatterbuck.

The Rappahannock County Math, Science and Engineering Scholarship was awarded to Taylor Light.

Carly Day and Natalie Tupper both received a Mary Beth Williams Scholarship.

The Rappahannock County Lions Club awarded a scholarship to Matthew Dodson and Taylor Light.

The Horning Scholarship was awarded to Cory Garnett.

The E. Franklin Warner Memorial Scholarship went to Daniel Clement.

The Alpha Delta Kappa Teaching Scholarship was awarded to Brittany Clatterbuck.

Robert Dornbusch received the Paul Nichols Sr. and H.B. Winfrey Scholarship.

Cody Ramey received Uncle Kelly’s Clean Slate Scholarship.

The Salem Ruritan Bill Kyle and Community Scholarships went to Carly Day and Robert Dornbusch.

Taylor Light received the Elizabeth Grigsby Memorial Scholarship.

The Next Step Dream Awards went to Austin Burnett, Matthew Dodson, Sarah Garrison and Jacob Williams.

The RPM Memorial Scholarships went to Wayne Bird, Brittany Clatterbuck, Carly Day, Monica Figueroa-Roman, Madison Herbert, Christopher Jenkins, Taylor Light, Jacob Racer and Taylor Yowell.

About Staff/Contributed 5568 Articles
The Rappahannock News welcomes contributions from any and all members of the community. Email news and photos to editor@rappnews.com or call us at 540-675-3338.