Fodderstack Road never looked better for 10K

Many heartfelt thanks to Boy Scout Troop 36 and their scout master, Roger Pierson, for assisting in the cleanup of Fodderstack Road — just in time for the running this Saturday of the 33rd annual Fodderstack 10K Race.

The scouts who participated were: Aidan and Ashton Gould, Main and Robert Hutcheson, Richie Platt, John Paul and Nicholas Riedel, Jonathan Sanders, Landon Thede, Niko Patton, Eric, Marcus and Zac Thompson. Scout leaders included Dan Thede, Richard Payne, Bruce Hutcheson, Greg Patton, Marie Riedel, Marsha Thompson and Kathy Gould. Others who participated in the clean-up with the scouts were Davin and Miller Kines, Hannah Thede and Mrs. Bachetti and Dave Riedel.

Thus far we have155 registered, 83 female, 72 male; of the 155, 46 are Rappahannock residents. Numerous winners from previous years have already registered and several returning families are competing not only for individual awards but also for the Ike and Quita Parrish Family Award, which is given at the discretion of the Race Committee to a family of four or more which has competed four times or more.

The Sonnett family (five members) is out in full force as well as the Jeffries, Fiddlers and Culbertson families. Other local favorites: Jenks along with Jennings and Berkeley Hobson, Sharon Payne and son, Chris; Merrill and daughter Lilly who won the coveted Eva Smith Memorial award last year, and Tim and Ann Kerr.

Chris Parrish has stated that he and Gary Light (both winners in 2010) have been training all year for the Fodderstack race! Way to go, gentlemen — hopefully you will collect another one of Merrill’s beautiful mugs.

The race starts at 9 Saturday (April 16) at the north end of Flint Hill. Registration opens at 7:30 at the Flint Hill fire hall. The Awards ceremony starts at 10:30 in front of the courthouse. T-shirts, bananas, granola bars and water will be given out at the finish line for the participants.

With luck, the runners will have a little wind at their backs to give them a chance to break the course record — for the ladies, it’s 36 minutes 20 seconds, for the gentlemen, it’s 31:26. Go for it!

Remember to smile when you cross the finish line. Ann Spieker will be there taking pictures along with Steve Eastham photographing all the elated winners!

Jean Lillard
Flint Hill

About Staff/Contributed 5635 Articles
The Rappahannock News welcomes contributions from any and all members of the community. Email news and photos to or call us at 540-675-3338.