Letter: Deputies say Smith has ‘excelled’ as sheriff

As Sheriff Smith’s employees, we believe it is necessary to publicly promote our current sheriff, Connie C. Smith, for a few simple reasons. First and foremost, Sheriff Smith is dedicated and passionate about her duties as the sheriff of Rappahannock County. Sheriff Smith has spent her whole career in Rappahannock with a long list of achievements, and has displayed unprecedented loyalty to to the county.

Second, Sheriff Smith has created programs to save the taxpayers money and is frugal with the funds generated by these programs. Sheriff Smith has nearly completed an administrative building addition equipped with a new dispatch center, employee break areas, an interrogation room and much-needed office space for all employees.

Sheriff Smith has obtained grants to purchase new and upgraded equipment for all of her sworn deputies. Sheriff Smith has obtained automatic rifles, new handguns, Tasers, automated external defibrillators and metal detectors. All of these tools are essential to help us do our job on a day-to-day basis. Also, Sheriff Smith is equipping her deputies with new patrol cruisers. These vehicles speak for themselves. We consider them to be our offices and appreciate the welcome change.

Furthermore, Sheriff Smith has cross-trained personnel, obtained new positions for extra patrol, created a drug and gang task force position and believes in training her employees for every situation they may come across. We believe Sheriff Smith has excelled as the sheriff of Rappahannock County and will continue to achieve at a high level. We respect Sheriff Smith immensely, and ask for your vote to reelect her. Thank you for your support.

Deputy D.J. Stevens

Deputy Danielle Settle

Deputy Kerry P. Grigsby

Deputy D.T. Martz

Deputy Gregory P. Gullace

Deputy Gary Jenkins

Deputy W.C. Ubben

Deputy Melody D. Smith

Lt. Janie M. Phillips

Capt. Sheila M. Walter

Deputy Matthew C. Dodson

Deputy R.L. Jenkins

Deputy Robert Fincham Jr.

Deputy J.C. Kerns

Deputy Taylor Yowell

Sgt. Mark Currence

Deputy S.K. Burke

Sgt. A.D. Deavers

Capt. James C. Welch

Jack Sharp

Deputy J.R. Dodson

Deputy N.R. White

Deputy Jeff Brown

Maj. Scott Jenkins

Lt. J.A. Sisk

Anthony W. Zopp

About Staff/Contributed 5503 Articles
The Rappahannock News welcomes contributions from any and all members of the community. Email news and photos to editor@rappnews.com or call us at 540-675-3338.