Wrestlers poised for districts

This Saturday (Feb. 4) our varsity wrestlers will grapple with their Bull Run District counterparts in the district tournament in Strasburg as they seek to advance to the regional tournament. While the team’s low numbers and a resultant high number of forfeits have made team victories elusive this season, Rapp’s wrestlers, individually, have excelled on the mats and are poised for some postseason platitudes.

Dylan Hitt leads the way in the 132 weight class, with a stellar 35-5 record including the Most Outstanding Team Wrestler title at December’s Montrossity Duals and a second-place finish at the prestigious Eastern View Invitational last month. Patrick Foley has wrestled at the 160 and 170 weight class, compiling a 17-11 record and picking up first-place honors in the 170-pound division at the recent Gladiator Duals Tournament at Riverheads High School.

Zach Armor will be bringing his aggressive style and an 18-20 record to the 138-pound weight class, gunning for a regional spot. Jesus Lucas, wrestling at 126 pounds, has only seen limited action in tournaments but has come on strong lately to compile a 10-15 record, and he too has hopes for postseason advancement. Matt Lombardi will be wrestling at 145 pounds and while his tournament time has been severely limited, he has hopes that his near-perfect practice attendance will pay off at tournament time.

First-year wrestler Brian Kelly will be looking for his “next victim” in the 152 weight class, having scored several victories and gaining valuable experience in his first year with the team. And last but not least, featherweight Alexis Heckethorn will be looking to score a win in the 106 weight division. Smith Clifton, a 170-pound wrestler who compiled a 13-5 recor, and Trey Swindler, a first-year 160-pounder who wrestled up at 180 and racked up 10 wins, will be sorely missed this weekend, their seasons prematurely ended by injuries.

Head coach Galen Weyer, a former Virginia state champ himself, and his assistants Andrew Weyer and James Lofton, will be working the team through their final preparations this week as they get closer to their first step to every wrestler’s dream, the state tournament in Salem on Feb. 18. And that first step will be the Bull Run District Tournament which begins this Saturday, Feb. 4 at 10 a.m. at Strasburg High School.

– Jimmy Swindler, RCHS athletic director

RCES Honor Roll announced

Rappahannock County Elementary School’s second semester Honor Roll was announced this week by the Honor Roll’s sponsor, Union First Market Bank. The honorees are:

4th Grade, all-A: Skylar Culbertson, Catherine Daly, Sophia Hernandez, Grace Kennedy, Richard Lillard, Lauren Petty, Alivia Tuel, Henry Wood.

4th Grade, A/Bs: Olivia Atkins, Kaycee Barroso, Logan Butler, Kayla Compton, Hannah Dowd, Hannah East, Bevan Forrest, Edgar Gonzalez-Flores, Chance Graves, Mackenzie Haunold, KayleeHitt, Randy Hitt, Noel Jenkins, Skie Kennedy, Ben Kopjanski, Kaycee Lucas, Cheyenne McCracken, Sydney Murphy, Carly Pullen-Stringfellow, Galen Sanborn, Jason Smith, Christy Smoot, Mollie Spivey, Billy Taplin, Natalie Way, Philip Wyatt.

5th Grade, all-A: Samuel Barnes, Mackensie Clark, Serenity Cortez, Sarah East, Danielle Fryant, Nick Hale, Savannah Hensley, Bryce Jones, Josh Sabol, Ethan Sumner, Wyneth Thompson, Alicia Whorton.

5th Grade, A/Bs: Kelsey Andrade, Esteban Arellano, Stuart Bailey, Kerrie Baker, Anthony DelGrosso, Courtney Dodson, Chad Ellis, Justin Fertig, Kailey Griffith, Zion Hanberry, Katlyn Haskins, Luke Hawkins, Ryan Hines, Jeffrey Jenkins, Stacy Kimble, Ryann Luthi, Melanie Marlor, Brett Midkiff, Macy Montgomery, Heather Pearson, Grant Per Dieu, Amanda Puskar, Grace Raiford, Andrew Sealock, Dustin Shenk, Grayson Thornhill, Nancy Weghorst, Hailey Whorton, Jason Williams.

6th Grade, all-A: Juan Arellano, Brooke Athelli, Ryan Atkins, Connor Culbertson, Bridget Daly, Morgan Flanagan, Caragh Heverly, Mikayla Johnson, Gregory Pullen, Jacob Sheffield, Virginia Wyatt, Tatyana Yates.

6th Grade, A/Bs: Callie Alther, Joshua Bennett, Cydney Chambers, Ashlyn Connelly, Michael Czekaj, Joe Gold, Charles Gubler, Vivian Heeter, Trey Jenkins, Davin Kines, Scott Miley, Chantz Murphy, Hunter Nicodemus, Jackson Norris, Matthew Pullen, Amber Smoot, Madison Stevens, Mahlet Yonus-Yirgu.

7th Grade, all-A: Cristina Arellano, Claudia Barnes, Kimberly Dellinger, Julia Estes, Aaron James, Jacob Love, Jack Massie, John Norris, Michelle Polli, Kayla Robey, John Paul Riedel, Kelsie Strobel, Jessica Thorne, Ellie Young.

7th Grade, A/Bs: Carter Boldridge, Kayla Brown, Taylor Callahan, Kim Dellinger, Jake Demory, Sara Frye, Sara Garcia, Gabe Hernandez, Devyn Hitt, Cindy Lucas, JoJo McKinney, A.J. Palmer, Dante Parker, Missy Phillips, Josh Racer, Owen Smith, Savannah Stevens, Emily Way, Jessica Wimer.

All the honorees will receive complementary copies of this week’s newspaper, courtesy of                                                         Union First Market Bank.

– from contributed reports

Wakefield students win district honors

Students in the advanced-placement U.S. Government class at Wakefield Country Day School placed second in the “We the People” competition in Richmond earlier this month.  This result means that they will travel again to Richmond in the near future to compete at the state level of this educational contest. The Wakefield team scored 855 points, just 49 points behind the district winner. “The judges were very impressed with the knowledge and in-depth thinking displayed by our students, awarding them several perfect scores,” said teacher and moderator Jeff Day.

– From contributed reports

About Staff/Contributed 5584 Articles
The Rappahannock News welcomes contributions from any and all members of the community. Email news and photos to editor@rappnews.com or call us at 540-675-3338.