School and Sports News for Feb. 16

RCHS’ fall 2011 honor roll

The most recent Rappahannock County High School (RCHS) honor roll has been announced, courtesy of Union First Market Bank. The honorees are:

12th Grade, all-A: Tessa Crews, Christopher King, Samantha Settle, Bryn Sonnett.

12th Grade, A/Bs: Robert Adams, Adam Carter, Taylor-Anne Cunningham, Joanna Hughes, Caitlin Humbles, Kirk Milam, Candace Rutherford, Anne Stout, Naomi Yonas Yirgu.

11th Grade, all-A: Britton Hipple, Jesus Lucas, James Swindler, III.

11th Grade, A/Bs: Trevor Achilles, Peyton Bailey, Jacob Dawson, Brittany Dwyer, Erin Eaton, Casey Foley, Maria Garralda, Cassandra Harrison, Zachary Huff, Case Kramer, Caitlin Miller, Lyndie Paul, Caitlyn Smith, Philipp Strachwitz, Naomi Weingarten, Samantha White, Briana Winkworth, Robert Yowell.

10th Grade, all-A: Shelby Burnett, Victoria Campbell, Rita Cliffton, Nicholas Hipple, Dylan Hitt, Maddie Kopjanski, Diana Loya, Davis Sheffield, Michelle White.

10th Grade, A/Bs: Keelee Armor, Bethany Baldwin, Katelyn Barney, Natalie Bosch, James Davis, Amber Dodson, Lilian Endre, Charles Estes, Laikyn Farmer, Steven Hensley, Evan Hitt, Hanna Jenkins, Michael King, Shane L’Amoreaux, Tanyon Lee, Cassie Meredith, Taylor Ordile, Amber Pullen, Daniel Schlosser, Tyler Shanks, Karalyn Spangler, Savannah Spivey, Matthew Stump, Amrit Tamang, Will Thompson.

9th Grade, all-A: Jordan Atkins, Katherine Baldwin, Klaire Gubler, Amanda Pullen, Jane Purnell.

9th Grade, A/Bs: Brittany Adams, Emily, Allen, Kellie Baker, Caitlin Campbell, Kayla Campbell, Alicia Crawford, Emma Endre, Kathryn Fisher, Katelyn Fisher, Amanda Frazier, Madelynn Heneghan, Gary Jenkins, Andrew Kopjanski, James MacLeod, Henry Mason, Emily Massie, Kayla McGhee, Allen Miley, Michael Mitchell, Courtney Nichols, Stephanie Nicholson, Augustus Norris, Ashley Rhein, Kory Settle, Dylan Stewart, Nicholas Taylor, Zachary Winkworth.

8th Grade, all-A: Stephany Baldwin, Parker Critzer, Kayleigh Flanagan, Elizabeth Hipple, Jackson Jenkins, Nivardo Loya, Kelsey Parker, Sarah Thornhill, Julia Wood.

8th Grade, A/Bs: Hannah Bennett, Jake Dooley, Kathleen Forrest, James Grove, Vanessa Hickerson, Austin Huff, Samantha Keys, Miller Kines, Hannah Kleppinger, Tymbor Lee, Evan Marcus, Dillon McLaughlin, Dylan Midkiff, Megan Neibert, Mickalya Neibert, Madeline Neibert, Paige Pikington, Brandon Rutherford, Jonathan Sanders, David Smoot, Caryl-Anne Taplin.  

All the honorees will receive complimentary copies of this week’s newspaper, courtesy of Union First Market Bank.

Wakefield swim teams excel in conference meet

Highlighted by first-place finishes in three events, Wakefield Country Day School’s varsity swimmers all went faster than they ever had before in the Delaney Athletic Conference (DAC) Championship Meet at St. Michael’s High School last Saturday (Feb. 11).

Both the girls team and the boys team finished seventh overall. These results were accomplished with the two smallest teams at the meet: the girls team had two swimmers and the boys team had five.

In the girls’ portion of the meet, freshman Anne Katherine Burns placed seventh in the 50 freestyle with a time of 29.73 seconds. She then dropped more than three second in the 100 fly, coming in fourth place (1 minute 14.04 seconds). Junior Rachel Dumez had a third year of strong swimming at the DAC Championships with two first-place finishes, in the 100 fly (1:03.41) and the 100 back (1:02.09). These are top-12 times in the state this season for DuMez in both of these events.

The boys team’s results included junior Will Scaring, who was 12th in the 200 freestyle (2:24.50) and had an 11th-place finish in the 500 freestyle (7:45.21). Senior Austen Cloud placed 13th in the 100 freestyle (1:08.82).

Senior Michael O’Heir recorded a second-place finish in the 50 freestyle (24.38), and he finished off his individual swims with a first-place finish in the 100 breaststroke (1:10.73). Junior Conor O’Heir finished in 3rd place in the 100 butterfly (1:02.09). He topped off his day with another third-place finish in the 100 backstroke (1:04.31). Michael Chen also swam for the Owls.

The O’Heir brothers, plus Scaring and Cloud, also scored in the 200 freestyle (1:46.89) and the 400 freestyle (4:14.14) relays, finishing in 5th place in both events. All swimmers who earned a top-three finish in an event were named to the all-conference first team.

DuMez and both O’Heir brothers will continue their seasons this Friday and Saturday (Feb. 17-18) at the VISAA State Championship meet at the Freedom Center in Manassas.

– contributed reports

Dean’s list for siblings, another in Sperryville

Both Joy and Bret William Heddleston, daughter and son of Jon and April Heddleston of Sperryville, made the dean’s list at their respective universities for the fall 2011 term, for maintaining grade point averages of 3.5 or higher on a 4.0 scale.

Bret was named to the honors list at Wheaton College in Illinois, where he’s a freshman pursuing a degree in archaeology and participates in the Student Ecumenical Society. Joy, a senior at Liberty University, is majoring in elementary education and has been on the dean’s list consistently since arriving at the Lynchburg school.

Colleen Daly, also a resident of Sperryville, was among the 170 students at Whittier College who made the California school’s fall 2011 dean’s list, an honor at Whittier awarded to full-time students who earn at least a 3.7 grade point average.

– contributed reports

About Staff/Contributed 5503 Articles
The Rappahannock News welcomes contributions from any and all members of the community. Email news and photos to or call us at 540-675-3338.