Down Memory Lane for July 19

50 years ago
October 25, 1962

Sperryville Volunteer Fire Department has purchased new fire engine, a 1962 Ford C800. The vehicle is equipped with 1,100 feet of two-and-a-half-inch hose; 375 feet of one-and-a-half-inch hose; 150 feet booster hose and water capacity of 500 gallons. The American LaFrance pumper operates at 750 GPM.

I. L. Parrish, prominent beef cattleman from the Viewtown area, has won the “1962 Conservationist of the year” award for Rappahannock County. The award was presented by Culpeper Soil Conservation District Supervisor Gen. Daniel Noce at a banquet held at the DeVivi Restaurant in Orange Thursday night, October 18. Mr. Parrish won the award on the basis of the outstanding conservation job he has done over the past fourteen years. The 376-acre farm has been operated as a beef cattle unit since Mr. and Mrs. Parrish purchased it shortly after the close of World War II.

The Chi Sigma Youth Group extends an invitation to all teenagers, 13 years and up, regardless of the grade in High School, to join and meet with them every Sunday night. The officers elected at the last meeting for 1962-63 are: Co-Presidents, Alice Wood and Frank Moffett: Secretary, Carolyn Johnston and reporter, Kathy Nalls. Anne Jenkins was previously elected Treasurer.

25 years ago
June 4, 1987

Robert Estabrook, superintendent of Rappahannock County Schools since 1981, has resigned. The announcement followed an executive session of the School Board Monday morning.

Mr. Estabrook said he is leaving “to accept a position with the staff of the University of Virginia,” beginning on Aug. 1. He said he will have two primary areas of responsibility: as Assistant Executive Secretary of the National Federation of Urban and Suburban School Districts, an organization located at the University of Virginia, “working with its staff to carry out their program,” and teaching in the Department of Education Administration of the Curry School of Education.

The RCHS Technology Education classes attended state competitions held in Richmond at the Hyatt Hotel. Teachers Ron Vickers and Scott Currie accompanied 13 students to the competition in which 15 schools participated. The eighth grade team; consisting of Silas Mosher, Bobby Jenkins and Matthew Eidson, progressed to the finals and eventually took second place in the state. The team received a trophy and each team member is awaiting the arrival of individual trophies.

Best in show winners at the Rappahannock County Garden Club’s Spring Flower Show: Dot Estes was the sweepstakes winner in Division I, Design, as well as recipient of a merit award for creativity for this arrangement on the theme of “Blessing the Hounds.” Jane Herndon took top honors in Division II, Horticulture, for her pink double peony.

10 years ago
Jan. 30, 2002

More than 80 Cub Scouts, family members and friends gathered at the Washington fire hall this past Saturday for Pack 123’s 2002 Pinewood Derby Races. The 40-foot track was scraped, sanded and painted brilliant red by the Pack 123 “track crew,” Bryant Lee, Robin Lee, Opie Crawford, Doug Bywaters and David Woodard.

After three hours of racing it was time to find out which car was the fastest in the Pack. The winner of the third-place trophy with the blue and gold racer was K.T. Milam Jr., the second place trophy was awarded to Sean Michael Knick who “drove” a sleek white car and the number one car in the Pack was owned and driven by Tiger Club’s Case Kramer who was awarded the first place trophy. Kramer’s car won every race, finishing the day with a perfect record.

The Rappahannock County Science Fair was held on Jan. 24 and 25. Close to 300 projects from students in grades eight through 12 were exhibited in the Rappahannock County Elementary multipurpose room. Students spend incredible amounts of time planning, researching, performing and analyzing their special experiments to arrive at their conclusions and present their findings. Both junior and senior division winners were also last year’s winners.

Congratulations to two fine young scientists. Jenkins Dove, son of Dr. and Mrs. Scott Dove, won the honors in the junior division with his project entitled “Energizer-Hot versus Cold.” Sean Robertson, son of Mr. and Mrs. Gregory Robertson, won the senior division with his project entitled “A Tale of Two Cells.”