Meetings and Notices for Dec. 6

The Washington Town Council holds its regularly scheduled meeting at 7 p.m. Monday (Dec. 10) at town hall. Agenda includes an update on the People Inc./CCLC special-use permit application and consideration of the Rappahannock Historical Society Avon Hall History.

The Rappahannock County Water and Sewer Authority meets at the courthouse on Gay Street in Washington at 5:30 p.m. today (Thursday, Dec. 6).

Rappahannock Rapidan Community Services board holds its regularly scheduled meeting at 1 p.m. Tuesday (Dec. 11) at its office at 15361 Bradford Road, Culpeper. Individuals with disabilities who require special assistance to attend and participate in this meeting should contact Kimberley Martin at 540-825-3100, ext. 3146.

The regular meeting of the Rappahannock Rapidan Regional Commission is 1 p.m. Wednesday (Dec. 12) at the Rappahannock-Rapidan Regional Commission Offices, 420 Southridge Parkway, Suite 106, Culpeper.

Gray Ghost Winery, 14706 Lee Hwy., Amissville, is sponsoring a special holiday food drive for the month of December to benefit the Culpeper Food Closet. All non-perishable food and monetary donations qualify you for a drawing to receive free tickets to one of Gray Ghost’s popular events. For more information, call 540-937-4869.

The Julia E. Boddie Scholarship Committee invites youths to enter its annual essay competition in celebration of Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr.’s birthday. Awards in several categories will be presented on Sunday, Jan. 20 at 4 p.m. during the 22nd annual Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Celebration at the Theatre at Washington. This year’s essay theme is: “Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King: Life and Legacy Live On.” Students (public, private and homeschooled) in grades 1-12 are eligible. Nominations must be postmarked by Dec. 10 and mailed to MLK Essay Competition, c/o Box 356, Sperryville, VA 22740 or emailed to Nominations should include a cover sheet with the student’s name, age, grade, school, home mailing address, telephone and email. All entries should be no more than 250-300 words, typewritten, double-spaced. Winners receive gifts, awards and certificates. For more information, contact Lillian F. Aylor, committee chair, at 540-987-8064, or Nan Butler Roberts, celebration program chair, at 540-661-2013 or