And the winner is . . . Rappahannock!

By Jean Lillard

The overall winner of this year’s Fodderstack 10K was Hugh Toland of Fairfax, with a time of 35:57, but Rappahannock County residents took the spotlight!

Julia Wood and Alex Ramey not only won back-to-back Eva Smith Memorial awards, but Julia was the first female (10th overall) to cross the finish line in 43:07. In 2012, she was the second female to finish and in 2011, she was first in the 12-and-younger category. Alex was third overall with a time of 39:00. Last year, Alex was the overall winner, and in 2011 he was third overall. What a great record for two of our Rappahannock stars.

We have had others win the overall female race, including Lily Strange in 2009 and, in 2006, Susannah McNear Barnes. Both ladies have won several Eva Smith Memorial awards.

Another young Rappahannock star is Gavin Jenkins, who was fifth overall with a time of 40:40 and placed first in his age category of 13-18. In 2011, he finished second in the 12-and-younger category, and last year Gavin won his 13-18 age group. Gavin’s father, Mark Jenkins, is an excellent runner – he came in 12th overall and second in his age group. He has won numerous trophies over the years.

Other Rappahannock winners this year included:

Julia Estes, who won first in her age group last year, was coming off a bad soccer injury but still placed second in the 13-18 group.

Skylar Culbertson, who has come on as a strong contender, won the 12-and-younger category for the second straight year. Wyneth Thompson placed third in same group. Danielle Boutte won her 13-18 age group.

Sam Barnes, following in his mother’s footsteps, won first in 12-and-younger. Susannah McNear Barnes, first-place winner last year in the 35-39 category, placed second in the 40-44 group.

Nicholas Hale placed fourth in 12-and-under. Conner Culbertson was third in the 13-18 group. Malcolm Perry placed third in the 19-24 category. Jonathan Robinson was second in the 25-29 group. Megan Fairbrother, a winner last year, placed second in the 30-34 group.

In the 55-59 group, Heather Callahan and Andrea Wooten placed second and third, respectively. Jim Palmer came in third in the 50-54 category.

Rappahannock residents took first and second in the 60-64 group – Jane Smith and Rosita McKee. Merrill Strange, who recently moved out of the county, took third. She has won her share of Eva Smith Memorial awards as well.

In the 65-69 group, Lois Markee took second and Ellie Clark placed third, but an honorable mention for fourth place goes to Judy Segaar. Robert Taylor was second in the 65-69 group.

In the 70-and-older category, Gwen Bates took home a first, with Jennifer Manly placing third. In the 70-74, second place was won by Raymond Stamps and Rick Fischer took third.

About Staff/Contributed 5503 Articles
The Rappahannock News welcomes contributions from any and all members of the community. Email news and photos to or call us at 540-675-3338.