Little landslides

The official results of Tuesday’s Town of Washington election are in. Rappahannock County Registrar Kimberly McKiernan reports that 30 voters cast ballots this year in the town of about 140 residents electing five town council members, a mayor and a town treasurer (the latter two also serving on the council).

None of the races were contested, and the council’s only newcomer, Katherine Leggett, replaces long-time member Alice Butler, who declined to run for reelection this year. “Some voters just didn’t vote for some of the candidates,” McKiernan said.

Mayor (John Fox Sullivan): 28 (1 write-in)
Treasurer (Jerry Goebel): 23 (2 write-ins)
Mary Ann Kuhn: 28
Katharine Weld Leggett: 28
Patrick J. O’Connell: 28
Gary R. Schwartz: 28
Daniel G. Spethmann: 24
Council Write-ins: 5