Letter: Thanks to all for helping honor the life of Dr. King

Thank you to the Rappahannock community, family and friends for your attendance and support during the 24th annual Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Birthday Observance held at The Theatre at Little Washington on Sunday, Jan. 18. A special thank you to all of the Town of Washington and Rappahannock County officials who took time out of their busy schedules to attend the program. In addition to the names shown in last week’s Rappahannock News, also in attendance were school board Chair John Lesinski; Piedmont Supervisor Mike Biniek; and Washington town council member Gary Aichele. Your attendance and leadership means so much.

To our special guest speaker, Ambassador Pamela Bridgewater, we appreciate your visit and your words of encouragement and inspiration to us during your speech. The ambassador’s work has been recognized the world over and to have her take time from her busy schedule to visit our town is really special and historic. She has local ties listing her home as Fredericksburg, yet through her position for justice and freedom, she has worked alongside three U.S. presidents, Clinton, Bush and Obama, as well as Coretta Scott King, widow of Dr. King, and Nelson Mandela. We are grateful and thankful for the dedicated service you have provided to our country and the world.

Special thanks to Divine Life Men’s Choir and Pastor Rev. James G. Mack for providing the wonderful sounds that only men’s voices in praises to God can produce! To the program emcee, Dr. Pamela Simpkins of Macedonia Baptist, Flint Hill, thank you for a job well done. And to the student participants, Jane Humphreys of Culpeper County High School and James Hensley of Belle Meade School in Sperryville, you showed poise and grace while sharing your writings about Dr. King’s life and legacy.

Special gratitude to our co-sponsors, the Scrabble School Preservation Foundation and The Theatre at Little Washington. Your continued support over the years is so appreciated. Look forward to 2016 and the 25th annual/silver celebration.

Nan Butler Roberts
MLK Program Director
Lillian Aylor
President, Julia E. Boddie Scholarship Committee

About Staff/Contributed 5589 Articles
The Rappahannock News welcomes contributions from any and all members of the community. Email news and photos to editor@rappnews.com or call us at 540-675-3338.