Who’s running in Rappahannock

Rappahannock County voters visit the polls Tuesday to elect two state representatives, a county sheriff and four other constitutional officers, and supervisors and school board members in three of the county’s five voting districts — Hampton (Washington), Jackson (Amissville) and Wakefield (Flint Hill/Chester Gap).

Polls are open 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. Election Day coverage appears in next Thursday’s Rappahannock News, with a summary online at rappnews.com next Wednesday morning.

The Nov. 3 ballot contains the following entries:

Virginia Senate, 26th district — Incumbent Republican Mark Obenshain of Harrisonburg faces Democratic challenger April Moore of Orkney Springs.

House of Delegates member, 18th district — Incumbent Republican Michael J. Webert has no opponent in the race for his third term in Richmond.

Circuit Court Clerk — Incumbent first-term court clerk Peggy Ralph faces opponent Lavonne Adkins, who made an unsuccessful write-in bid when Ralph ran in a required special election in 2010 after she was appointed to replace longtime clerk Diane Bruce, who announced her retirement in 2009.

Commonwealth’s Attorney — Current first-term office-holder Art Goff has no opponents.

Sheriff — Sheriff Connie C. Smith, running for a third term, is opposed (for the second time) by Anthony E. “Andy” Berry Sr., a Culpeper town police sergeant from Sperryville.

Commissioner of the Revenue — Three women seek the post held for nearly 30 years by Beverly Atkins, who’s retiring: Sharon Dodson of Flint Hill, Marlina Lee of Castleton and Christa Weeks of Washington.

Treasurer — Deborah Knick, appointed in 2013 to replace Frances Foster (who held the post for more than a half-century), was unopposed on last November’s required ballot, and is unopposed again.

Soil and Water Conservation District Board — Three candidates are vying for two seats on the board: Incumbent Monira Rifaat of Sperryville, farmer Mike Peterson of Sperryville and Isaac Parrish of Viewtown.

Supervisor, Hampton district — On the ballot, three candidates seek the seat being vacated by longtime supervisor Bryant Lee: Commercial realtor and current school board chair John Lesinski, who was endorsed by Lee; farmer and realtor J. Newbill “Jay” Miller Jr., a Rappahannock native; and county water and sewer authority member Keir Whitson of Washington. Roger Cordani, co-founder of Concerned Taxpayers of Rappahannock and an unsuccessful supervisor candidate in 2011, is running as a write-in.

Supervisor, Jackson district — Incumbent Ron Frazier, a 19-year veteran of the board, faces school board member Amy Hitt.

Supervisor, Wakefield district — Incumbent Roger Welch, current chair of the supervisors and the board’s second-longest-serving member, appears unopposed on Wakefield voters’ ballots (although Huntly resident James Costello, based on signs he’s put up along U.S. 522 and elsewhere, is running as a write-in).

School Board member, Hampton — No candidate will appear on the ballot for the seat being vacated by Lesinski, but three Washington-area residents are running as write-ins: retired RCPS teacher Lucy Ann “Pud” Maeyer, former nurse and teacher Demaris Miller and former U.S. Marine Band director John Bourgeois.

School Board member, Jackson — Former school board member J. Wesley Mills is running unopposed to fill the seat that Hitt will give up Jan. 1.

School Board member, Wakefield — Incumbent W. Chris Ubben is unopposed in his bid for a second term.

Polls are open 6 a.m. to 7 p.m. on Nov. 3. For more information, visit rappahannockcountyva.gov/voter.html.

About Staff/Contributed 5584 Articles
The Rappahannock News welcomes contributions from any and all members of the community. Email news and photos to editor@rappnews.com or call us at 540-675-3338.