Piedmont Soap Box Derby set for this weekend

Rappahannock drivers this year include William Eborn from Castleton.
Rappahannock drivers this year include William Eborn from Castleton. Courtesy photo

Racers in the annual Piedmont Area Soap Box Derby are ready to roll.

More than 120 drivers will compete in the 14th annual derby this weekend (June 11-12), including 11 from Rappahannock County.

“The Annual Derby is the culmination of a full season of hard work by the driver, their family and many volunteers,” race director Frankie Gilmore said. “These drivers have been working on their cars, fine tuning and test runs all Spring. During the Derby, the public is on hand, lots of festivities and fun for everyone. It’s the big race!”

Winners of the three derby divisions — stock, super stock and masters — will represent the Piedmont area at the World Championships in Akron, Ohio July 16.

Four drivers from the Piedmont Area Soap Box Derby have won world championships – Brandon Feagan (2008), Sean Brown (2010), Gabrielle Beville (2011) and Mason Breeden (2014).

Gilmore said that the weekend is a culmination of work between family, local businesses and the drivers.

“Without the help and support from our Trophy Owners, Sponsors and Partnerships, the Piedmont Area Soap Box Derby would not exist,” Gilmore said. “We are completely dependent on volunteers and financial support from our generous donors! Whether it be a business or organization that purchases a car kit for our children to drive during the derby, or donate funds and/or items to help throughout the race season – all donations are needed and greatly appreciated.”

Final inspections for drivers are scheduled for Saturday and Sunday with the race kicking off 8 a.m. Saturday, June 11.

Drivers from Rappahannock County include:

Stock Division:

William Eborn, Castleton

Joy Fosato, Amissville

Madelyn Metcalf, Washington

Sydney Metcalf, Washington

McKenna Torosian, Amissville

Super Stock:

Beverly Eborn, Castleton

Jeremiah Foscato, Amissville

Joshua Foscato, Amissville

Jack Gerard, Chester Gap

Olivia Gibson, Washington

Zander Jason Woyciechowski, Sperryville